Posted by: bridget | 28 June 2007

What Ann Really Said

Apparently, there’s a small media scandal over what Ann Coulter said on “Good Morning America” on Monday.  Something about wishing John Edwards dead.

According to newsbusters, the transcript of the conversation is thus:

CHRIS CUOMO (ABC NEWS)

(Off-camera) You…

ANN COULTER (POLITICAL COMMENTATOR)

Though about the same time Bill Maher said – and by the way, I did not call John Edwards the F-word. I said I couldn’t talk about him because you go into rehab for using that word.

CHRIS CUOMO (ABC NEWS)

(Off-camera) You say you were you – you were joking.

ANN COULTER (POLITICAL COMMENTATOR)

About the – oh yeah. I wouldn’t, I wouldn’t insult gays by comparing them to John Edwards. Now, that would be mean. But about the same time, you know, Bill Maher was not joking and saying he wished Dick Cheney had been killed in a terrorist attack. So I’ve learned my lesson. If I’m gonna say anything about John Edwards in the future, I’ll just wish he had been killed in a terrorist assassination plot.

That’s a far cry from saying that she wishes Edwards dead; in fact, it’s the exact opposite. Paraphrasing her as the MSM has done is like quoting something, leaving out the “not,” and pretending that the meaning is unchanged.

Responses

  1. What a clever girl. They fell for the trap. Even when the bait was clearly presented as just that- bait.

    They didn’t blink an eye when Maher made his comments about Dick Cheney. But now she makes the exact same comments and they run it into the ground. Brilliant.

    BTW read this article and tell me if it makes any sense.

    http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D8Q1UDG80&show_article=1

  2. Hook, line, sinker.

    It’s beyond parody. It’s like being back in high school, where the popular kids get away with everything and the nerds get beaten up if they do the same stuff.

  3. The worst part is that Ann’s critics know it was satire but ignore it. They are shocked – shocked, I say! – that she could say such a thing. One liberal theologian (i.e., false teacher) put up a post titled: “Ann Coulter is a sinner” and proceeded to whale on her. What frauds.

  4. Neil,

    Your last two words nail it.

  5. I heart Ann Coulter. :) Seriously, when are they going to realize how much smarter she is than they are? Okay, I know the answer to that question… but still.

  6. Hmmm Tieki, at least you are making good use of your time since we missed your flight today and all :) . And Ann Coulter does rock.

  7. I do love Ann; I wait for her column every Thursday. :)

    She went to Cornell (where, according to rumour, really smart people go), then Michigan Law, was a Law Review editor, and then went to the DOJ. She’s so much smarter than her detractors, who conveniently ignore her sterling credentials.

  8. Unfortunately, they do not run her column in the local liberal newspaper, and my time online is limited, so I don’t get to read her column.

    Ah, well… such are the ways of life.

    Almost all conservative pundits/columnists/radio talk show hosts, unless the name is Micheal Savage, are smarter than their liberal counterparts.

  9. […] helvidiuspachyderm.wordpress.com/2007/06/28/what-ann-really-said/  […]

  10. “I do love Ann; I wait for her column every Thursday.”

    She lives about 3/4 mile from me in Florida. We often take a walk by here house. I do think it freaks her out a bit that some people in the public knows where she lives. Rush is nearby too, but not walking distance unless you are about 20 years or so younger than me. ……steve

  11. Steve,
    You should have her over for a cook out. According to Tieki she drinks room temperature diet coke:)

    Tiek has met her and says she’s really nice. Of course, you living in the same neighborhood kind of one ups Tieki’s meeting her ;)

  12. Wow…good to know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

