Posted by: bridget | 23 October 2007

National Mole Day!

Happy National Mole Day!  No, this is not a celebration of fuzzy critters or spies.  It’s 10-23, so we celebrate Avogardro’s number (6.0221415 * 10^23 – the number of atoms of carbon-12 in 12 grams of carbon).   

PS – a semi-belated happy National Chemistry Week.  Oh, yeah, and National Cuddle Day (20 Oct.).

That covers all nerdy holidays for the month of October.  After all, we need a break from those ubiquitous pink ribbons, pink M&Ms (the fact that processed foods increase one’s risk of breast cancer, and the associated irony of selling those items to help fund a cure, shall be ignored), pink spatulas, pink rubber duckies…..

Responses

  1. I can’t believe I missed National Cuddle Day. Is it on Oct. 20 every year?

    I doubt that the Banks and the Post Office will ever close for it and it can’t be much of a hit in Washington, none of those politicians and bureaucrats seem very cuddly.

    Still, I think it has potential. Maybe next year I’ll send some cuddle cards.

  2. “That covers all nerdy holidays for the month of October”

    How does an authentic nerd like yourself celebrate? Star Trek convention?

  3. SST,

    Yes, every 20 October is Cuddle Day.

    Now that Clinton is out of the White House, we don’t have Cuddle Day (or fornication day?) celebrated in the White House.

    I like the idea of cuddle cards.

    Total Transformation,

    I’m not a Star Trek person. Not that type of nerd – as you should know, as I took that ridiculous nerd test of yours. :p

  4. WARNING: shameless self-promotion ahead

    “I’m not a Star Trek person. Not that type of nerd – as you should know, as I took that ridiculous nerd test of yours. :p”

    Of mine? I didn’t write it sister. Although, if you look at my blog you’ll see a link to something I did write.

    http://totaltransformation.wordpress.com

  5. I wouldn’t mind shameless self-promotion if it were to the post in question.


Leave a Reply

Categories

