Posted by: bridget | 1 February 2008

The Newest Meme

Patrick tagged this elephant for a meme.  Here are the instructions:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

Well, if this blogger had internet access at home, this would have been a much more interesting meme.  As it were, though, the “nearest book” is Bioethics: Health Care Law and Ethics

The meme does not say whether this is the fifth sentence or the fifth full sentence.  Going with the former, sentences 6-8 are:

“In this sense, it is fair to say that women contribute more to the IVF process than men.  Their experience, however, must be viewed in light of the joys of parenthood that is desired or the relative anguish of a lifetime of unwanted parenthood.  As they stand on the brink of potential parenthood, Mary Sue Davis and Junior Lewis Davis must be seen as entirely equivalent gamete-providers.”

Don’t go to law school. 

Tagging Neil, Tieki, Tammi, the Queen, Kelly, TotalTransformation(ha! how da ya like that?), and Ian.  Five is underrated.

Responses

  1. You are NOT going to believe this, but just now when I checked this posting of yours I had JUST stopped reading a book at page 123. Creepy!

  2. That’s weird. Maybe we’re communicating telepathically.

    Well, you know what book to use, and you don’t even have to flip to page 123! :)

  3. “Maybe we’re communicating telepathically”

    In that case what am I reading about? I’ll try and think real hard about it for the next five minutes. HA!

  4. History! :)

    :p pppttttt

  5. Gosh, I was hoping for something more specific. Miss Cleo you are not.

  6. Miss Cleo used to call my apartment. My roomie once hung up on my dad when he called at 8 am, because she thought it was Miss Cleo. Her reasoning: “Hey, don’t call a college apartment at 8 am if you want coherent people!”

  7. Here’s mine (yeah, the Bible – really, it is always on my desk!)

    Exodus 12:31 During the night Pharaoh summoned Moses and Aaron and said, “Up! Leave my people, you and the Israelites! Go, worship the Lord as you have requested.

  8. Woo hoo! Just sitting here in the living room, I think mine would probably have to be the Bible too. So, what Neil said. :) Just kidding! Wait, I see a book that’s closer …. brb

  9. Awww … the closest book to me is called Marley and Me. I was on my way to the desk to grab More Guns Less Crime by Dr. John Lott, and then I saw Marley. :)

    I popped myself up on the elbow and rubbed my eyes. Jenny was lying on her side, knees pulled to her chest. “The baby what?”

    Hmmm …. interesting. Well, I must depart and get some work accomplished today.

  10. Awww … the closest book to me is called Marley and Me. I was on my way to the desk to grab More Guns Less Crime by Dr. John Lott, and then I saw Marley. :)

    I popped myself up on the elbow and rubbed my eyes. Jenny was lying on her side, knees pulled to her chest. “The baby what?”

    Hmmm …. interesting. Well, I must depart and get some work accomplished today.

  11. Because I’m too lazy to blog right now:

    Nearest book is actually one I haven’t even opened yet for my Global Justice class called “Making Globalization Work” by Joseph E. Stiglitz

    Requested quote:

    But it’s a very regressive tax. Generally, governments levy taxes in relation to the ability to pay, but with medicines the same tax is levied on the poorest in the developing countries and the richest in the developed world. We noted earlier that knowledge is a public good and that restricting knowledge leads to inefficiency — a lower pace of innovation.

    FUN! …

  12. Aww, I hadn’t refreshed this page in forever and didn’t see that my mom commented before me. I read Marley and Me right before I came back to Cornell. It is an absolutely AMAZING book, especially if you like dogs and even if you’re not the biggest fan. It’s funny and sweet and did I mention amazing?

  13. Neil – why am I not surprised? :p

    Tammi – I want to read “More Guns, Less Crime.” How is it?

    “Marley and Me” is supposed to be great. I’ll take y’alls word for it. :)

    Tieki – wow, that made me glad that I was a chemical engineer…. :)

    In all seriousness, why call “medicine” a “tax?” I mean, if you get the same benefit from it, why not pay the same amount of money? Moreover, as a general matter, the wealthy countries pay the development costs associated with new technologies, which allows the poorer countries (and poorer people in our countries) to get the medicines at a reduced price. There is a saying in the pharmaceutical industry that it costs $1 to make a pill, but the first pill costs $1 billion.

    Anyway…..

  14. Haha, I think you’ve got a point, Bridget. I have no idea when this book actually comes up in our assigned reading, but it’s bound to be interesting.

  15. Please don’t tell me that your professor makes you buy books that you never actually read. I hate when professors do that, mostly because books are not free. :(

  16. Hi Bridget,
    Well, Dr. John Lott is brilliant and the book, More Guns Less Crime, is awesome. It isn’t written from a right versus left standpoint, but instead, just based on the facts — which of course speaks volumes. I highly recommend it. I think I might have a link on my sidebar to Dr. Lott’s website/blog. You’d love him.

    In the meantime, you should read Marley and Me. Even though I haven’t yet, it was hilarious over Christmas break when we were watching TV and Tieki was reading that book. I swear, she’d giggle out loud at least every 5 minutes. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

