Posted by: bridget | 21 February 2008

Why Blogging?

Matthew asks why we blog (or don’t blog).  Well, this elephant started blogging when she wanted to colate some of the research she had been doing over the summer of 2006.  Then, after that summer, she found herself 1) with a lot of time on her hands, and 2) missing the law (totally sad and nerdy, she  knows).  So she began to broadcast her thoughts into the ether of the internet, wherein she enjoys a marginally more attentive audience than that given to her by the dust bunnies underneath her bed. 

The side effects of blogging have been fun – getting to know y’all, organising my thoughts, stalking Free Expression professors, providing a convenient medium for others to stalk her, and being thought male (or gender-indeterminate, apparently) by roughly half of the internet world.

Given that this blogging (or blawging, on occaison) venture was predicated on having an excess of free time, which will not be the case come May (and bar-studying), this pachyderm may find herself in the “why we don’t blog” category.

Neil has a great post on blogging.

Responses

  1. I hope you don’t fall into the “why we don’t blog category.” But when it comes to not having time, I won’t be casting any stones.

    I will say though, if you think you don’t have time now, just wait untill you have kids.

  2. It’s funny how we assume a gender even when there is a perfectly useful, gender-ambiguous pronoun readily available to us: “they”.

    Use it in the singular, and there is no need to assume that which we don’t know.

    Keep it up!

  3. Whaaa? You’re a chick!

    j/k I knew that.

  4. SST,

    Qui sera sera, and all that. I’ve never wanted children, so I doubt that will ever be an issue. (No issues from issue?)

    Matthew,

    It’s not grammatically correct to use “they” in the singular, at least amongst the grammar snobs. It’s funny to see things like, “The site said….” Well, I’m sorry, my blog is really freaking cool, but it doesn’t actually talk. :)

    Chance,

    :p pppptttttt

  5. You should have at least 5 children, the gene pool needs them.

    But seriously, children are worth eveything you go through for them. I have alway wished we could have had more, but I am thankful for the ones we have.

  6. For you! For those of us introverts with permanently disabled love lives, children aren’t a good idea. (I’ve often said that my contribution to the next generation is NOT procreating with the men who are attracted to me. :) )

    There are plenty of people who want them more and would do a better job parenting. If the human race needs my genes, it needs more help than I can give it. :)

  7. From what I can see, the desire and comittment to parenting means slightly more than the parents genetics.

    Brilliant introverted parents comprise the bulk of the parents of children I see on the autism spectrum. I have two families in my class who have three children on the autism spectrum. They have no social life outside of their support network for their kids, they can’t comitt enough energy to their work to advance in their feilds. They always look like they need a nap. Their knowedge of current events consists mostly of the most recent research involving their child’s diagnosis.

    What makes these families work is a constant, unrelenting, uncompromising comittment to good parenting.

    Too many people project an idealized view of parenting, and too many people go into parenting expecting to parent the typical child, and are not prepared for the comittment it takes to parent any child much less an atypical one.

    It’s not about selfishness. It’s about the possibility of the rest of your life consisting of a perfect day being an uninterrupted shower, and no calls from the school.

    I have nothing but reverance for parents who sacrifice everything to give their children the best future possible…

    …but I think that it is just as laudable to recognize when you are not yet prepared for that kind of a comittment (but you might be, someday).

    :-)

  8. Teresa,

    Oh, I agree that desire and committment to parenting mean more than passing along good genes. Strangely, though, if you tell people that you’ve never had any desire to parent and think it the height of evil to deliberately conceive unwanted children, they tell you that you’ll change your mind someday and turn into a happy housewife. If you point out that your genetics are totally screwy (true with me), they accept that as a valid reason to not procreate. I use the latter so as to not hear people tell me to do something that I’ve known all my life would turn my existence into a living hell.

  9. It’s about the possibility of the rest of your life consisting of a perfect day being an uninterrupted shower,

    The real difference between introverts and extroverts – or rather, the definition thereof – is whether they derive their energy from being with people or being alone. I know that I’m a bit of an extreme introvert: while I really love people, I absolutely need a large amount of time alone. It isn’t about how people twitter, “Oh, everyone needs time by themselves!”; it’s about the fact that I can happily go two or three or four days on end without communicating with anyone.

    The idea of not being able to have an uninterrupted, 45-minute shower every day is hell. The extrovert hell is the opposite: it would be like asking them to only be with people one day a month, and to spend the other 27-30 days without communication. See here for more on the subject.

  10. Theo,

    You’re preaching to the INFJ choir here! :-)

  11. I don’t think people who have “screwy” genetics should not reproduce per se.

    But they should certainly think about if they are prepared (financially, emotionally, skill-wise) to properly provide for a child they might have who has special needs.

    Any person whose haveing a kid should think about it…and someone who is at greater risk should certainly do so.

    And I totally respect people who give it serious thought and make their decision based on self-knowledge and ethics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

